A nail design that gives braiding a twist.

The other day I was looking up nail designs that I could try.  My nails needed some help because they were looking –what we call– “rachet.”

photo-7

I watched a youtube video called Braided Nail Art and thought it was a brilliant design! Of course I had to try it.

You can definitely say my nail design didn’t turn out as good as the nails in the video did, but I still love the way mine turned out.

The colors I used were Yodel Me On My Cell by OPI, Spark De Triomphe also by OPI and Tangerine Crush by L’Oreal Paris.

I used the same color scheme that I used for my tribal nails in my last post Let’s talk about tribal. For some reason I subconsciously love to use pink, blue and sparkles together.

photo-6Anyways to get the look pictured left, I started with a base coat. Then I painted my entire nail with two coats of Spark De Triomphe.

The video explains that it is best to make a line while rolling over your finger. During this step it is really important to take your time and not rush the strokes.

Start with Tangerine Crush then cross over with Yodel Me on My Cell and finally cross over with Spark De Triomphe. Repeat this process until you reach the tip of the nail. Finish with a top coat.

Side note: The main reason I started with Tangerine Crush is that I found it easier to go over Yodel Me on My Cell. Plus it uses less paint. If you are a nail freak like me you know how we feel about wasting paint–and cotton balls.IMG_6572

The video tutorial makes this design look super easy to do, but to be honest I struggled. It was my first time doing this look and I didn’t take my time. Be sure to be patient and take your time while painting. Also let the polish dry after doing a color, so the polish doesn’t get really thick and look caked on.

Hopefully if you try this design it turns out better than mine. Happy painting! 🙂

What’s your favorite nail design to do?

4 thoughts on “A nail design that gives braiding a twist.

  1. Those look amazing! My favorite design is adding a strip of silver glitter at the tips of my nails over any color. I definitely don’t have the skills for this, but I’m sure gonna try!

  2. Oh my goodness..you are so good at painting nails!! I couldn’t help but scroll through your entire blog just to look at all the cool designs! I usually just stick to one color when painting my nails, but your blog made me want to try something new! I will definitely be keeping up with your blog from now on for more trendy tips!

Leave a Reply

