A different way to do gradient.

It’s getting closer to spring break and I can’t wait to go home to sunny Florida! The beach and a tan is all I need!IMG_6794

I figured that I would do a post that related to the blue water at Clearwater beach. So I did a reciprocal gradient nail art design, using OPI’s Suzi Says Feng Shui, China Glaze For Audrey and Sinful Colors Snow Me White.

To start, I painted two coats to all of my nails using For Audrey. Then I placed tape around my nails to minimize the clean up process.

Using a make-up sponge, I painted on Snow Me White first and blended in For Audrey next. After that I blended Suzi Says Feng Shui to help get the gradient look. Your sponge should look like the picture below.

IMG_6814

Then I lightly dabbed my nail bed with the make-up sponge, applying two coats.

IMG_6813

You can see in the picture above how the tape helps with clean up.

For the next step wait about ten minutes for the polish to completely dry. Then place three small pieces of tape on all your nails.

IMG_6815

Then repeat the gradient step painting the polishes on the make-up sponge again, but instead of having the white part of the sponge facing the tip of the nail, have it facing the cuticle. This will give the reciprocal gradient look.

I find that the lines come out clearer and look better when you take the tape off of after applying two coats of polish with the make-up sponge.

IMG_6818

This is what you should get for your final product. My pinky nail displays the original gradient look.

Thanks for reading and have fun but safe spring break!

Happy painting! šŸ™‚

5 thoughts on “A different way to do gradient.

  1. I really enjoyed this nail tip. It has a really classy look for the spring season, and it is really in style right now. Thanks for the tips and easy instructions!

  2. Pingback: Water Marble nails | Polish Me Perfect

Leave a Reply

